From its founding 25 years ago, FXW has not only been a great place for students to learn, but an institution sought-after as a place of employment by teachers who were inspired by FXW’s unique vision of offering a values-based, academically rigorous curriculum to a diverse student body.

FXW’s first teachers relished the rare opportunity to shape an institution, as they partnered with the founders and administrators to build the school: classroom by classroom, grade by grade, student by student. Teachers like Susan Etten Rooney, Carroyl Williams Jones, and Lisa Patrick truly comprehended Maggie’s vision and worked tirelessly to lay a foundation for what FXW has become.

For many of these pioneering FXW teachers, the race was not a sprint, but a marathon, the longevity of their tenure serves as a testament to their steadfast dedication. There have been many teachers, administrators and staff members who selflessly gave ten years or more to FXW, including:

  • Mary Ellen Caron
  • Barb Banaszek
  • Carroyl Williams Jones
  • Donna Murphy
  • Brigid Cashman
  • Sue Smeaton
  • Sue Sperling
  • Bob Lesh (in memoriam)
  • Marvin McCurry
  • Mary O’Rourke
  • Lisa Patrick
  • Andre Norwood
  • Julie Johnson Peterson
  • Betty Indacochea
  • Erin Ryan Horne
  • Georgia Hawkins
  • Pat Riordan
  • Sharon Murphy
  • Lindsay Mosshammer
  • Kerri Johnson
  • Faline Mariscal Blanchard
  • Annessa Staab
  • Katie Huston Gallagher
  • Monica DeLorenzo
  • Mary Larrea-Young
  • Jolene Hillgoth

The commitment to develop students’ hearts and minds has been an essential attribute of all FXW teachers and staff members.This unique approach has been recognized within the Archdiocese and among academic associations such as NAEYC and ISAACS. FXW has been privileged in its 25-year history to have been the professional home of teachers whose excellence and expertise have been recognized by various organizations and institutions, most notably the Golden Apple Award, which was received by Roel Vivit, Elizabeth Grelle Kruse and Cheryl Chapman. Beth Kurtzweil was also recognized as a Golden Apple finalist and many other FXW teachers over the years have been nominated by the FXW Community for their outstanding instruction.

The standard set by the first FXW teachers and the legacy of excellence exhibited by the entire FXW Staff, both past and present, have been essential to FXW’s growth and continued service to the children of Chicago.

Share →
Holy Name Cathedral Campus
751 N. State St., Chicago, IL 60654
P: 1-312-466-0700
F: 1-312-337-7180
Old St. Patrick's Campus
120 S. Desplaines St., Chicago, IL 60661
P: 1-312-466-0700
F: 1-312-466-0711
© 2014 The Frances Xavier Warde School, NFP   Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions